Skip to content
May 2, 2012 / tlsomm

Save Money and the Earth with DIY Dishwasher Detergent

Just like everyone these days I’m always looking for ways to save money.  If doing so also means being kinder to the environment, I’m all for it.

So when I came across a recipe for a home-made dishwasher detergent, I was all for it.  Cheap, environmentally friendly ingredients is a winner in my book.  Below is the recipe, which I found from diyNatural:

Dishwasher soap recipe

  • 1 cup borax
  • 1 cup washing soda
  • 1/2 cup citric acid
  • 1/2 cup kosher salt

A cost breakdown shows you spend only $0.05 per wash cycle on ingredients!  They also suggest filling your rinse agent compartment with white vinegar.  Now that makes cents.  Cha-ching!

We’ve enjoyed using this recipe for a little over a month, and even my skeptical husband says it’s a go.  Give it a try and let me know your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

